About the Maryland Kite Society

NEW --

Winter 2017 Kite Retreat News!

We're very happy to announce that kite artist Michael Goddard will be our featured presenter at our kitemaking retreat!  Check out his wonderful website, http://www.idesignkites.com/.  More information about the retreats other presenters  coming soon! Download a registration form here

We're just back from a wonderful AKA Convention in Seaside. Oregon. (OK, the weather wasn't great but the kitemakers were fabulous!).  

Download Competition Results

Organized on January 25, 1969, The Maryland Kite Society (MKS) is the second oldest active kite club in the United States. While its membership hails mainly from the mid-Atlantic states, the MKS boasts members from across the nation and several foreign countries.MKS's official set of purposes include sharing information about kitemaking and kiteflying, providing ongoing continuity and support for local kite festivals and subsidiary groups of kiting enthusiasts, and providing a community education resource for the development of kite craftspeople and flyers of present and future generations. More about us...

The 2016 Winter Kitemakers Retreat Featured Presenter Loik Lamalle in His First time teaching in U.S.!

The 2016 Retreat will take place February 12 - 16 and we're proud to feature the wonderful, whimsical, 3 dimensional kites of Loik Lamalle.  

Our retreat is fast approaching.  If you have not already sent in your check for your registration, now is the time to do it:  we’re getting close to our limit of the number of people we can accommodate.  And if you haven’t yet registered with Turf Valley, you should do so immediately:  our guaranteed room rate expires January 18, so don’t miss out!  You can reach Turf Valley at 410-465-1500 or 888-833-8873.  Our Group Code is C/L #27U61B.  

At our retreat, Loik Lamalle will be presenting instructions for building 2 kites.  You can build one or the other or both, but we need to know in advance which of them you want to build so that kits can be made up in advance.  We’re referring to the 2 kites [see attached photos] as follows:  

The String Kite or S Kite, a tensegrity kite with strings tensioning upper and lower sails:

The Vertical Flyer with 2 Horizontal Panels, Kite R 2, similar to the S Kite but with side panels instead of tensioning lines:

You can purchase kits from FlyMarket (Phil Broder) at the retreat for these kites.  The kits will include spars, line, end caps, fittings, and edge binding.  The kit cost for the String Kite is $40.00.  The kit cost for the Vertical Flyer is $45.00.  Neither of these kits include sail materials. To be certain that you get to build the kite[s] you want to, please let us know what your choices are when you register.  Don’t delay.  You can pay Phil at the retreat.  

You can buy the materials for sails for these kites from Phil at the retreat, or  you can cut [and sew, if you like] your own colors and designs before the retreat and bring your designs to the retreat. Sail measurenents will be emailed to you when you register.

Our Other Featured Presenters -- Glen and Tanna Haynes

Have you ever wondered how to make your kite frame easy to pack up to travel in a smaller-than-your-kite bag size?  Do you get frustrated when your kite spar breaks because your ferrule failed?Learning to thread wrap ferrules can save you time and headaches.  You may find some answers over the weekend when Glen and Tanna Haynes give you the opportunity to learn about ferruling spars and thread wrapping the ferrules to make the weakest part of your spar the strongest.  They will be presenting a short talk and give you an opportunity over the weekend to have hands-on lessons doing wraps.  You can also learn about how different types of ferrules can be used to make your kites more portable.


And Tips, Tricks, and Traps of Rokkaku's

Bring your old and new Rokkakus for interactive sessions where you can learn about sparring, fittings, finishing, and bridling by examining the various ways kitemakers have solved these issues with a classic kite, the Rokkaku.  Facilitated by Jon Burkhardt, we will discuss these and other ideas:  Which techniques are best for flight?  Which are best for combat?  Come.  Look.  Touch.  Share.  Learn. 

More about the kite retreat and costs...

Our kite retreat presenters read like a "Who's Who" of kitemaking, and include:

Bobby Stanfield

Drake Smith

Bas Vreeswijk

Robert Brasington

John Pollock

Martin Lester

Greg Kono

Ron Gibian

Istvan Bodoczky

Jon Burkhardt

Kevin Shannon

Jose Sainz

Mike Mosman

Bob & Charmayne Umbowers

Pierre Fabre

Steve Brockett

Normand Girard